Venues

  • Younger Hall

    Opened in 1929 by Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon  (the late Queen Mother), the Younger Hall is owned and run by the University of St. Andrews. Behind its magnificent facade it houses a 900- seat auditorium and fully-equipped performing area. As excellent acoustically as it is visually, this is the premier concert hall in Fife.

     

     

     

    The Byre Theatre

    The Byre Theatre grew from the work of local journalist and playwright Charles Marford and A.B. Paterson’s in 1933 and their aspirations for a truly modern theatre addressing the needs of the entire community. The current building was opened in 2001 by Sean Connery. Its main auditorium is named after one of the founders and the second 80-seat performance space is named after the late golf photographer, Lawrence Levy. The theatre is said to be haunted by the benevolent ghost of Charles Marford.

     

    St Salvator’s Chapel

    The hub of life in Scotland’s oldest University, the chapel is a rare and beautiful example of Late Gothic architecture. Founded in 1450 as a part of Bishop James Kennedy’s College of the Holy Saviour, the Chapel of St Salvator has had a long and varied history.

     

     

     

    Hotel du Vin

    Hotel du Vin is located overlooking the famous West sands beach, a two minute walk from the R&A Clubhouse and First Tee on the Old Course. In the heart of the old town, the property was originally a prestigious family home, and has been sensitively converted into a stylish, boutique hotel.

    The heart of the hotel is the bistro, serving the signature French bistro dishes with a home cooked style using seasonal local produce. The bar and lounge area are adorned with charismatic art and comfortable seating, providing a relaxed setting to share a bottle of wine or cocktails.

     

     

     

    St Andrews Preservation Museum

    Preservation Trust Museum photo (credit Craig Yule)

    The St Andrews Preservation Trust Museum is an independent museum nestled in the bustling heart of the town, a stone’s throw from both the Castle and the Cathedral. Situated in a lovely 17th century house, the museum documents the social history of St Andrews from around 1800 to the present day. Our beautiful award-winning garden to the rear of the house is hidden from the outside world and provides an idyllic resting spot.

     

     

    Topping & Company Booksellers

    Topping & Company added the St Andrews branch to their stores in Ely and Bath just last year, but already they have become firm favourites in the town. The shop, with its wooden bookcases and complimentary coffee is a vibrant, independent haven for real bibliophiles, with over 45,000 titles and knowledgeable, passionate booksellers. It has also established itself as a popular venue for a wide variety of book-signings, poetry evenings and wine-tastings.

     

     

    St Leonard’s Chapel

    StLeonardsChapel

    Situated within the grounds of St Leonard’s School but now owned by the University, St Leonard’s Chapel is one of the oldest buildings still standing in St Andrews. The earliest parts of the building, the nave and the western half of the choir, may date from 1144. It seats approximately 60 people, and as it is built in traditional mediaeval style, pews face each other in collegiate style. It provides a beautiful intimate setting for musical events. Visitors should note that there is one small step into the Chapel.